Bad Checks Hillsborough County
It's a common crime that can bring dire consequences. Writing a bad check can land you in a heap of trouble in Hillsborough County and across New Hampshire.
If you are facing bad check charges, you'll want to find a criminal defense lawyer who can offer the best advice and assistance. In Hillsborough County, that person is Michael Anzalone.
There are very strict laws on the book that cover the crime of writing a bad check. While it is in most cases a minor crime, it can come back to haunt you. Partly because if you are convicted, you will have a criminal record and this can affect things such as job opportunities or student loans.
From Amherst to Hudson to Windsor, law enforcement authorities in Hillsborough County are on the lookout for people who issue bad checks. This is something you can easily avoid if there is no criminal intent.
First, as criminal defense attorney Michael Anzalone will tell you, never write a check that you don't have the funds to cover. Then, you'll never be in trouble. That said, if you do write a check that you don't have funds for, you can put a stop payment on the check. If the bad check was not your fault, of course, you won't be accused of writing a bad check.
If something like this happens, the best advice is to pay off the check as quickly as you can.
In Hillsborough County, for example, if you pay off the amount within 14 days including all fees associated with the bad check this will be hugely recognized in your favor.
However, your lawyer will advise you that after 14 days, if you haven't done anything to pay off the amount, the state considers it failure to make a payment. You can read the state statute RSA 638:4 for yourself to better understand how this works.
As you can see, it is considered a Class A felony if the amount of the check exceeds $1,500. There are other factors, such as whether the defendant has had two or more convictions for issuing bad checks within the past 12 months.
Likewise, it is considered a Class B felony if the check was for more than $1,000 and less than $1,500.
This is a crime that doesn't pay. You will get caught and you will find yourself in a legal nightmare if you don't seek the services of a highly qualified criminal defense lawyer.
When you hire Michael Anzalone of The Anzalone Law Firm, we do everything in our power to help you get back on your feet as quickly as possible.
In some cases, this means your case will move through the Hillsborough County criminal system. You can rest assured that Michael Anzalone and his associates will be by your side as your case moves through the legal system
This is a case that you want to get rid of quickly and he may suggest making a deal with prosecutors in which you would agree to plead guilty to a lesser charge. In return you would get a better result that may even include a suspended sentence.
Call us at The Anzalone Law Firm in Nashua, New Hampshire, today for a free consultation.