Portsmouth Teen Hit Two Pedestrians at an Intersection in Hampton
HAMPTON, N. H. _ Drinking and driving doesn’t mix _ especially when teenagers are involved.
On June 12, a 17-year-old Portsmouth teen hit two pedestrians at an intersection in Hampton.
Police say Karen Weinhold, 69, and Lisa Beaudry, 60, suffered serious injuries when the teens car hit them. Both were sent to hospitals, where they are being treated.
The crash is under investigation, but the teen has been charged with aggravated DWI.
If you’ve been involved in a serious crash involving driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you should consult with a DWI attorney in New Hampshire. Your lawyer will be able to offer advice to help you get the best possible results when your case goes before a judge.
The teenager in this case is facing serious charges.
First, it’s not known whether he agreed to take a Breathalyzer test. If he did, and had a blood alcohol content of 0.02 percent or higher, he’ll be considered too impaired to legally drive in New Hampshire. And if he refused to take the chemical test, his license will be suspended for 180 days and that refusal can be introduced against him in court.
Remember, in New Hampshire and the rest of United States, it’s illegal for anyone under 21 to consume alcohol. Other charges could apply, including a minor in possession of alcohol. And one drink could possibly cause a reading of 0.02 percent. So, it’s best not to drink and drive if you are under 21.
Adults over the age of 21 are considered too intoxicated to drive in New Hampshire if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. For commercial drivers, the legal limit is 0.04 percent or higher.
Either way, the teen is facing some very serious charges because he was involved in a traffic accident that injured two people. And police had enough evidence to arrest him on aggravated DWI charges. In New Hampshire, several things can result in charges being bumped up to an aggravated DWI. In this case, the teenager caused serious injury to the two pedestrians he hit. Other charges that will cause charges to be bumped up include eluding an officer, speeding or having a minor in the vehicle.
A judge may reduce your charge to a non-criminal one, which would keep it off your record. But if there are other circumstances, such as in this case, the judge may decide not to do so.
A first time offense for DWI is considered a Class B misdemeanor in New Hampshire. For those under age 21, a conviction carries the loss of a driver’s license for one year with no chance for an early reduction. The convicted driver will also be required to complete the Impaired Driver Care Management Program. This could include individual or group treatment, as well as drug and alcohol education programs.
Successful completion of all of these programs, plus paying for any fees and fines imposed by the court, is required before the minor’s license will be reinstated.
The cost of a DWI conviction can be enormous, especially for someone so young. It will cost lots of money in fines, fees and attorney costs, in addition to the time he or she will have to spend away from school or work to attend hearings, treatment programs or sessions with lawyers.
If you are the parent of a minor who has been arrested on suspicion of driving while under the influence, you will want to make sure your teen is in the best possible hands as the case heads to court. Make sure you seek the advice of a DWI lawyer in New Hampshire.
Your attorney can walk you through the process, which can be quite complicated if you or your teen has never been in trouble before.