The crime of theft in New Hampshire is, by its definition, a very broad term that can apply to many different actions. However, those who are convicted of theft or any subset of this crime under New Hampshire law can be subjected to definitive and harsh punishments.
If you, a friend, or a relative has been charged with theft, it is important that you take quick action. By consulting with an attorney, you can better understand the specifics of the charges you face, the laws you have been charged with breaking, the potential punishments that could be levied against you, and what you can do to refute these charges. Gaining this highly important knowledge is the first step to a successful defense.
Call a New Hampshire theft crime defense lawyer at The Anzalone Law Firm at 603. 548.3797. Through a free consultation, you can learn more about your legal situation and the options that are available to you.Defining Theft
New Hampshire Criminal Code Section 637:3 states that theft occurs when someone "obtains or exercises unauthorized control over the property of another with a purpose to deprive him thereof." Additionally, New Hampshire Criminal Code Chapter 637 has classified theft into multiple separate offenses including larceny, embezzlement, blackmail, false pretense, and receiving stolen property.Punishments for Theft
When the court considers classification for theft and possible penalties, it looks at how much money was taken or the value of the property stolen. Penalty classifications for theft, found under Criminal Code Section 637:11 are:
- Class A Felony: Property value or money taken is more than $1,500, a firearm was stolen, or the defendant committed the crime while armed with a deadly weapon.
- Class B Felony: Property value or money taken is between $1,000 and $1,500, the defendant has been previously convicted of at least two theft crimes, property is stolen from three separate locations within 72 hours, or property is stolen with an intent to distribute or resell.
- Misdemeanor: Property value or amount of money taken is less than $1,000.
New Hampshire Criminal Code Section 651:2 states that the penalties for a class A felony can range up to 15 years in prison. Additionally, a class B felony can result in a maximum of seven years in prison and a class A misdemeanor has a maximum of one year in jail.Robbery
While robbery is a type of theft, it is classified separately in Criminal Code Section 636. Robbery involves using physical force on a victim or threatening a victim with physical force in order to commit a theft. This is a class B felony, but can become a class A if a deadly weapon was used or if death or serious injury was suffered by the victim.Creating a Defense with Skilled Representation
Battling back against theft charges requires strong evidence, testimony, and a deep insight into the court system. Through the assistance of a skilled attorney, you can craft a well-rounded defense against prosecutors seeking to levy serious charges and penalties against you. By working toward the best possible outcome through tenacious defense tactics or creating positive plea deals, the devastating effects of a conviction can be avoided.
The New Hampshire theft defense attorneys at The Anzalone Law Firm have dedicated their careers to protecting the wellbeing of defendants. With our representation, you can properly face prosecutors and their charges in court. Get in touch with us at 603.548.3797. Defending your rights and future wellbeing can begin today.
- Armed Robbery
- Burglary Tools
- Car Burglary
- Credit Card Theft
- Shoplifting Offenses
- Theft by Deception
- Theft by Extortion
- Retail Theft
- Receiving Stolen Property
- Grand Larceny
- Motor Vehicle Theft
- Possession of Stolen Goods
- Bank Robbery
- Armed Criminal Action